C++, C#, Java and ASP.NET on Dreamhost?

software development

Greetings,

I am interested in learning about C++ and C#, which can be used in ASP.NET. I was wondering if Dreamhost supports web development in any of these languages? I know Dreamhost uses Linux and ASP.NET is supposed to be a Microsoft Windows based language so it may not work. I don’t know about C++ or C#. I am already well-experienced at PHP/MySQL, XHTML/CSS, but I am a noob when it comes to C languages or Microsoft Languages.

As an important side question: I would like to develop some cool and highly complex physics simulations/programs that could be shown and used on the web (hopefully to impress potential employers so I can finally get a job). At the same time, I was hoping to get experience in C++/C# so I could add these to my resume along with my Java experience. What languages are best for developing these simulations and putting them on the web with the Dreamhost server?

Thanks

C++ is quite possibly one of the worst possible languages you could choose to do web development in, but it is supported on DreamHost, for what it’s worth.

C# is not supported on DreamHost. As you’ve surmised, it’s primarily a Microsoft technology (although some Linux implementations, such as Mono, do exist), and as such isn’t well-suited for use on our servers.

Java is partially supported on DreamHost. Most Java web applications run through a servlet engine such as Apache Tomcat or Jetty, which we do not currently support on DreamHost (although you may be able to set up and run one yourself on a VPS or Dedicated Server). Java applets require no server-side support, though, and as such they work just fine.