Beginner help

software development

I’m not a programmer, which is why I’m trying to use PHP and not Javascript or something. However, I can’t seem to get even the most basic PHP page to work on Dreamhost. I did install one of the PHP “One Click Installs” which I believe is all that’s needed to install the PHP functionality for my site. For a test, I’m just taking a form on page1 that collects (1) Name, and (2) age.

Then page2 is supposed to display them back. I got the code from a code site, so I can’t even think that I may have mistyped. Why aren’t variables being passed from 1 page to another? Any ideas?

You don’t need to install any of the one-click-installs to enable PHP for your domain, it is enabled by default.

I am afraid it is going to be rather difficult for anyone to help without seeing the actual code.

Mark

Save [color=#CC0000]$50[/color] on DreamHost hosting using promo code [color=#CC0000]SAVEMONEY[/color] ( Click for promo code details )

Normally when creating a php script you would save the file using a php extention instead of the normal html extention.
Passing varables like you are discribing are passed using one of two methods that are assigned when using a form. They are get method or post method.
Each item in your form is assigned a name, this name is your varable name that the php script will look at.

Take a look at this partial script. This type of script uses one page instead of two, because, I state the action to be itself.
As you will see each form object has a name including the submit button, these values are passed back to it self when the submit button is pressed. The script first checks to see if the submit button was pressed, if it was not it displays the form, otherwise it will verify the contents of the form.
I hope this code will help you see how it works, just to remind you that this is a partial code.
Silk

[code]if ($_POST[‘B3’]==false) {
print <<< LOGIN

PASSWORD PROTECTED - Please type in your username and password