Batch create email accounts?

I need to create hundreds of email accounts on one of my domains. Is there any way to do so in batch?

(I’m doing this in order to create hundreds of Twitter accounts, so I’m looking for tips on that, too.)

Thanks

Before we help you with this please explain how or why you want to create “create hundreds of Twitter accounts” and explain how they will be used within twitters terms of service.

On the surface this request looks abusive, if you want help from here please explain to us how it is not.

First of all, I’ve already discussed this with Twitter support. I told them exactly what I was going to do, and gave them access to the (not yet publicly available) site.

Here is their reply (emphasis added):

Second, having been a DH customer since December 2004, the lack of any predisposition toward abuse on my part has been pretty clearly established by this point.

Second first, as forums go we know little about each other. I have no knowledge that you have been a dreamhost customer since ___ or whether or not you have been warned along the way. It’s also entirely possible that you didn’t think through whether the purpose creates a terms of service issue or not.

There are no dreamhost API’s to create email account, however if all you need is hundreds of working address it’s pretty simple to to using the “Bulk-Edit Forwarding-Only Addresses” function of the panel to achieve something that will work for your stated purpose. The caveat is that all the email actually arrives in the same email box.

You can easily use a Spreadsheet program to compile a list of hundreds of email address, then copy the same email address of a real email box down the page in the next column. Save it as a tab delimited text file. Open that in notepad and paste the entire contents from there into the control panel window. The result is hundreds of email addresses all forwarding to one email box.