Basic guide for securing wordpress on dreamhost

wordpress

In an effort to help the many users who are having webmaster/mistress issues with wordpress on dreamhost, I’ve written a pdf on with a checklist of step by step how to make sure your website is secure. I’m not an expert in cleaning up an attack (thanks sXi, Bobocat and others) and I’m not trying to tell experienced web administrators what to do. This is targetted at the casual user who wants a secure wordpress website on dreamhost and wants to know how to do it. The doc is here

The checklist is as follows:

1. Tools
    a. Have an FTP tool
    b. Have an SSH tool
  2. Setup your dreamhost panel
    a. Individual users per application
    b. Enable enhanced security
    c. Disable FTP, enable SFTP
  3. Understand your own website
    a. know the user root directory
    b. explore the log directory
    c. understand the web root directory and how wordpress is a set of files on your website
  4. Wordpress Issues
    a. Add yourself and delete ‘admin’
    b. Removing old themes
    c. Removing old plugins
    d. Installing secure plugins
    e. Evaluating all plugins and themes for risk
  5. Securing your site from nastiness
    a. Editing .htaccess
    b. Permission check on important files
    c. Looking at log files
    d. Tracking down ip addresses

let me know if I’m missing something or screwed something up. I’m planning on adding a wiki after this is vetted.

-Bill

umm…

As most people don’t host their sites over SSL, their passwords will be transmitted in cleartext. I’d recommend adding yourself twice - once as an admin account (yourselfAdmin), with a very strong password that you rarely use, and a contributor account which can only create content and could be used on a daily basis.