Basic forms help!

Hi all!

Okay, I may be a total nit, but something has been bugging me for eons. I am not a beginner, and yet I’m not a terribly sophisticated Web programmer. I do what I need to get by, but I try to do it well.

After all that, Web forms still give me the heebies. I think it’s greatly hilarious that 99% of all the form tutorials out there show you how to build the form just fine. Name fields, great; check boxes, ok!

But when it comes to actually getting the form to do something, either the creator of the tutorial says “talk to your Web provider” or “the actual performance of the form is beyond the scope of this tutorial” (they don’t understand either, in other words) or descends (ascends?) into completely incoherent php-ese, but ONLY in bits and pieces. There is never a clear explanation of where these bits go or what they talk to. Often, there is not even a clear idea of what these bits are truly supposed to do.

It’s really funny how complicated it comes off, considering the majority of Web creators would just like to get a name, email addy and a message, and not necessarily a pile of info that will be applied to a database or ASP. There are millions of “Contact” pages that have the ancient mailto links simply because forms come across as some sort of voodoo.

Here’s what I would love:

• A dummy Web page that would show me the overall HTML of the page.

• The basic form tags.

• The actual position and paths of any POST or GET commands as related to Dreamhost.

• Examples of typical fields, like name, email, message.

• That’s it!

Essentially I want something that if I swiped it and threw it onto a page, it would work. Yeah, yeah, that’s getting someone else to do the work, but I’ll figure it out by example, I promise.

So far, when I post to other forums, I got all sorts of condescension, so that I don’t need. I just need simple instructions that I can understand. I know it’s easy, it just still doesn’t make sense!