Awstats problem

Hi, ive got a problem with Awstats - i installed it using the Skybly`s installation guide, but it always shows this - Never updated (See ‘Build/Update’ on awstats_setup.html page) and doesnt show any statistics. can anyone help - should i reinstall or wait for it to update automatically? i got several messages from crontab saying that the update process is in progress but still no changes in stat. pls help.

While I can’t help with your problem too much as I’m only new to using AWStats myself, try having a read of this wiki entry for help with installing AWStats.

I used the above instructions to install AWStats without issue.

Web Hosting Reviews | Shonky’s Blog | Hot Product Directory

I had a similar problem - I found out that it was outputting my stat results to my /home/user directory instead of the /home/user/ directory. It only did this when run via the crontab, it runs fine if I just run the command from the shell prompt. I have no idea why it does this, but I worked around it by adding:
mv /home/user/* /home/user/
to take place 2 minutes after the stats run. It basically just takes those files that were dumped into the wrong directory and 2 minutes later moves them where they’re supposed to be. shrug It gets the job done :slight_smile:

oh thanks a lot, wraith, i can now see this as well…will try to do what uve said…

but can u give the exact line which i should add to crontab to do this automatically? im not good with perl unfortunately…:slight_smile:

fuf…finally solved the problem which was actually a little different - instead of putting a correct logpath /home/yourusername/logs/ i put /home/yourusername/logs/ and thats why it didnt work =) anyway, tnx a lot for help guys.

on my previous hosting i had awstats preinstalled in the package and liked it so much, but as i see dreamhost is slightly lagging to preinstall it or make as a one-click install feature…

This is my stats update line plus my “fix” line.