Asp.net

I am intersted in using DH to host a website i want to make. I would like to purchase the lvl 1 plan, but before I do i need to know if DH supports asp.net because i want to have some pages that will be designed in microsoft visual studio using C# as the language. Will these pages be able to work on DH? Im still a bit new at this so i apolagize if my terminology is off.

Nope, they don’t support it.

digitalrundown.com
Promo Code: WJD97 - $97.00 off any new DreamHost plan (except month-month payments).

You’ll need to find a microsoft server to accomplish that. There are a few linux machines running a asp server (mono) and they might work out for you.

Why not just ditch microsoft and make use of php?

-Matttail

I personally started off as an ASP developer and swore by the word of M$. I had developers telling me how great this language was or how great this other language is. Nothing could persuade me otherwise, regardless of how ridiculous the pricing was for hosting with M$ SQL servers and ASP capabilities.

It wasn’t until I started playing with ASP.NET that my opinion changed. Granted, ASP.NET is a very powerful web programming platform…I can’t deny that! And it’s pretty easy to jump into if you already have good ASP experience. But configuring an ASP.NET environment with IIS is a major pain in the ass! I spent more time debugging problems with my configuration than I spent actually attempting to learn how to do something with it. I ended up tossing all the books I was reading aside and told myself, “There’s got to be an easier way!”