I am not concerned with what sort of policy you violated to get your account canceled, so this has nothing to do with that. Think about it like this though, they probably banned you rather than your account due to whatever you did.
If you create another account and choose to associate yourself with the first account trying to get your data, it’s still you and you’re already banned. If you choose not to associate yourself with the old account because you’ve “turned over a new leaf”, you’re not going to be able to access that data.
How are you expecting to gain access to your old files? Your previous login/password is disabled now. I’m not intimately familiar with DH policies, but I am pretty sure you’re setting yourself up for disappointment here.