Applets and mysql

software development

Hey I’m kinda new to mysql and applets.

I’m trying to make a simple applet for reading/writing to a mysql database but it just won’t connect. I do the same thing from a normal java application and it works allright.

DriverManager.getConnection(“jdbc:mysql://mysql.madhamster.net/pastebin?”+
“user=user&password=password”);

(fictional user and pword :wink: )

gives the exception:
com.mysql.jdbc.exceptions.jdbc4.CommunicationsException: Communications link failure
Caused by: java.security.AccessControlException: access denied (java.net.SocketPermission mysql.madhamster.net resolve)

Is the problem the adress? and can anyone point out what the adress have to be inorder to connect to the database?
Is the problem one of those limitations in applets?

cheers
Stian

Is this Java thing running from on the DreamHost server, on a remote server that you control, or inside a user’s browser?

If it’s running from on a DreamHost server, then there’s probably not much I can do except tell you to make sure that your syntax is right and that you’re using the right username and password. Someone with a bit of Java applet experience could probably do better, but that someone is not me :wink:

If it’s running on a separate server that you control, then the reason for the access denied error might be that your server is not in the list of servers which MySQL will accept connections from. By default, for security reasons, DreamHost only allows connections to MySQL from DreamHost servers. You can add your own server by going to your web control panel under Manage -> MySQL, clicking the name of your MySQL user, and adding your server to the “Allowable Hosts” section.