Apostrophes Not Supported on MySql?

Hello I’m new to Dreamhosts,
I have set up a website & MySql here:
http://www.appareltennis.info/

But when I try to login and enter data (edit or add new article) it does not let me enter if the text has an apostrophe. No error is given and I will just be sent back to page as if it was successful .

If I try it with out apostrophes then it will work.

I also ran a duplicate of this site on my last host and never had this happen.

Any help would be good.

The apostrophe needs to be escaped with a backslash depending on whether or not magic quotes is set to on or off. Which is why it works at one host and not another.

Do a Google search for ‘apostrophe mysql’ if you wish to read up about it and addslashes/stripslashes.

You can start at this article…
http://www.webmasterstop.com/63.html

Norm

Opinions are my own views, not DreamHosts’.
I am NOT a DreamHost employee OK!! :@

You act on my advice at your own risk!

I added the following like the articles said to the main config file of my site ( I also tried it on index.php):

( "<?php

function myAddSlashes( $string ) {

if (get_magic_quotes_gpc()==1) {

return ( $string );

} else {

return ( addslashes ( $string ) );

}

}

?>" );

but nothing changed and tried to add a sentence with the apostrophe but it didn’t enter again.

I have done something wrong I guess?

I only took a quick glance at that page–but I don’t see where it ever mentions calling the function. Defining a function, by itself, doesn’t do anything.

Where ever you’re inserting the string into the DB, you’ll need to call the function, something like myAddSlashes($your_string_name) before the insert.

So, if you’re working with a POST variable, like “user_name” you could do something like:

$user_name = myAddSlashes($_POST[‘user_name’]);

Then, the string $user_name should be ready to insert.

I’d give that a try.