Apache Benchmark, MySQL and Dreamhost - seeking a balance

One of my clients has a vps on DH.
It hosts multiple mysql-enabled sites including Drupal and Wordpress sites.
I started getting these ‘Packing On the Pounds’ emails at one point beginning last year. (See ‘Attention Required’ email quoted at the bottom.)

I followed all the suggested advice in the links from the email for all users on the vps immediately after having received it. If you have a lot of sites, including dev sites and abandoned or old projects, you may understand that this can be pretty tedious.

1. I couldn’t find anything out of the ordinary in the logs. If anything I noticed how truly quiet our domains are at that time of night. I’m not an expert, but I used their tools as they suggested. It might help if they posted a video on youtube showing examples of what to look for, both for vps and shared hosting.

2. Apache Benchmark (ab): I started playing with apache benchmark because I started getting gateway timeouts. The site would simply forget where I was, especially on heavily mysql rendered administrative pages in drupal. I compared what what happening in the VPS with several other clients’ accounts that I work with on DH. These are recent ab ‘request per second’ (rps) results for various sites since I talked with DH about it. In my estimation, benchmarks doubled (or better) a few days after talking with DH about the problem:

A list of users and sites apache benchmark requests per second (rps)
User and site names munged. I’d rather not have everyone ab all the sites. I work with.

user 1 on vps
[list][]siteone.com: 40 rps (drupal 6)
[
]sitetwo.com: 9.18 rps (wordpress)[/list]
user 2 on tehran
[list][]sitethree.com 32 rps (drupal 6)
[
]sitefour.com 40 rps (drupal 7)[/list]
user 3 on masseria
[list][]sitefive.com: 32 rps (drupal 6)
[
]sitesix.com: 6 rps (wordpress)[/list]
user 4 on galactus
[list][]siteseven.com 44.66 rps (home-brew LAMP)[/list]
user 5 on alouettes
[list][