Anyone using Java?

software development

Hello people

I’m very new to dreamhost. I’ve come from site5 because I have a high-data (but not high usage) site that wouldn’t really be possible there.

It was with pleasant surprise that I saw that java is installed on dreamhost machines. The docs are very clear that JSP an tomcat are not feasible, however. This makes me wonder about how happy they’d be about actually using java as part of a website.

Have people used java on dreamhost before? If I can use it as part of my site without getting complaints, that would be amazing. I had in mind a small java program to accept a user request, do a little data processing and then make a mysql call. Nothing massive.

Advice?

Cheers

Joe

If the program isn’t running overboard you should be good.

It might pay to send a ticket to Support outlining your requirements (noting the low traffic) as they’d be in the best position to take a look at your current server stats and give an educated response.

Joe, you should also take a look at Ruby on Rails. It’s fully supported here for the development and hosting of web applications.

What are [color=#CC0000]50DISK50[/color], [color=#CC0000]3DOM50[/color], and [color=#CC0000]1IP1DOM50[/color]?
They’re Dreamhost coupons!

Thanks Lensman. I’ve done quite a lot with PHP and RoR in the past. I was thinking of using PHP for the www bit and call a java program to do the data processing. RoR wouldn’t really be appropriate: the site won’t be structurally complex, it’s a simple front-end to preprocessed data.

It’s just java’s so much better for things like dynamic data structures, fast loops etc. I thought it might have benefits over php for that bit.

I will send a mail to support and see what they say.

Joe

I just kind of think of the overhead of starting up the jvm to be a bit much for small utilities. Have you considered a straight Ruby program?