Adding ads or more themes?

I am a newbie, so forgive me in advance. I set up my blog with no problems using an internet tutorial which advised using DremHost as the host and importing WordPress for free themes. All that went well. I’ve been able to post and adjust my site to some extent. But now, when I try to import ad software - like adsense, or new themes to my blog, WP posts an error code saying it cannot find directory. Am I supposed to be importing themes from THIS site? Do you have any suggestions?

DreamHost currently provides both hosting services that you pay for as well as those that are free. The hosting service they provide for free is called DreamHost Apps and the free service is limited due to how it is implemented. Every aspect of the backend is handled by DreamHost, including the file management and installing/upgrading software. As a result there is nothing much more for you to do other than use the software applications that come with it.

For more flexibility one would have to upgrade to the paid hosting service. With a “Fully Hosted” domain or subdomain one can manage the files themselves allowing for modifying software and installing additional components such as plugins and themes.

So it sounds like you are on the DreamHost Apps side of things.

Customer since 2000 :cool: openvein.org

Hello, and thanks for the quick reply. I just pulled up the Manage Domains tab on my account and it says it is “Fully Hosted.”

I was trying to add adsense software and a few more free themes from my WP dashboard. Am I supposed to come into this site to do that? My husband is a computer guy - and he had the time to get me this far - but is unable to help me for at least a couple of weeks. That leaves me needing more help to move forward. Thanks. D.

In addition to the issue that Atropos7 posted re. being “fully hosted”, there are two different types of “one-click” WordPress installations - the “Easy” one-click, and the “Advanced” one-click.