Add new web address?

I am really a newbie in some of this so forgive a naive question. I have 2 different sites hosted for 2 different companies I have. I want to add a temporary new web address (for a friend’s party next year)–I don’t mind paying for the registration (something like ‘joesbash2008.net’) but don’t want to pay separate hosting fees for this address.

Can I use a sub of one of my existing sites and have folks directed there when they click on the joesbash2008.net link? What do I need to do?

Thanks.

You don’t have to as Dreamhost can host unlimited domains, i.e. your addresses.

I don’t quite get you but DH can host your main domain and subdomains. Goto manage domain in your web panel and you can add as many domains/subdomains as you like.

And of course, your domain need to point to DH’s nameservers :
ns1.dreamhost.com
ns2.dreamhost.com

T-T-L
$77 off (yearly plan) 1 Additional Free Domain For Hosting Lifetime :cool: . See Detail Here

You can do anything you want. Getting a separate domain will cost you the registration fee, but a subdomain on an existing domain would be free.

If you’re not trying to hide your domain for some reason, you could even just add a directory, like example.com/joesbash2008/, instead of adding a subdomain, like joesbash2008.example.com.

They all do the same thing, if you just want a site that you can link people to for more info.

If you want to hide your other domains, but don’t want to pay for a domain, then just create a free dreamhosters.com subdomain like joesbash2008.dreamhosters.com.

:stuck_out_tongue: Save up to $96 at Dreamhost with ALMOST97 promo code (I get $1).
Or save $97 with THEFULL97.

BTW, you are the account holder here at DreamHost, right?

Free unique IP and $67 off with promo code [color=#CC0000]FLENSFREEIP67[/color] or use [color=#CC0000]FLENS97[/color] for $97 off. Click here for more options

Yes, I am.