Access backup

I need to access a site backup from last night or the night before. Its just the style sheet I need. Can someone tell me how to do this? I looked at the Wiki and cant figure it out.

Thanks

There is a hidden directory, called .snapshot, that contains various different copies of your site(s) that you can use for recovery. You can use something like PuTTY to access this hidden directory and retrieve earlier versions of your site files.

Simon’s website
Save $100 on 1-year plans with promo code [color=#CC0000]SCJESSEY100[/color] (details)

Thanks for the reply. I am very new to the unix/linux world. I used putty to create a cron job, but thats all I know. I searched the internet for shell syntax, but came away with nothing. Can you tell me how to access and retreive the backup with putty?

Thanks a million.

It might perhaps be easier for you to use an FTP program to access the backups. For FTP, log in with the user/pass for the domain you’re working on. Now on the side of your screen where it shows the server you’re connected to, there’s generally a line where it prints what directory you’re in. Just click in there and add on after the / “.snapshot” with no spaces or anything. With luck that will put you into the directory and you can access your backup.

To use putty, bring up putty and connect to example.com (replacing with your domain). You’ll be using the same log in as for FTP, however the use must have shell access enableld through the Panel > Users > Mange Users. If that hasn’t been done already the change can take 15 min or more to take effect.
Once you’ve logged in type “cd .snapshot” and press enter. now type “ls” and press enter. that should print up a list of the directoires and files in your snapshot folder. Select which folder you want “cd folder” again.