Abuse

I am a teacher, and one of my websites is my classroom website with schedules, links, etc.
One of my students signed the guestbook (anonymously of course) with some really bad message.
I know that I can report this to their ISP and get them in trouble. But how can I find out their ISP and do this?
I have their IP address and the date/time stamp of:

Time Stamp: Saturday, February 15th 2003 - 10:13:14 PM
IP: 204.244.197.24

Raven Oak

www.torifest.com
www.6-58.com

Here’s a start.

From a shell, I got
[dali]$ host 204.244.197.24
Name: MAX1-24.PERF.BC.CA
Address: 204.244.197.24

Then I went to http://www.internic.net/, clicked on the Registrars link, and clicked on Listing by Location of Registrar. That got me to http://www.internic.net/origin.html. Since the domain is Canadian, I went for TuCows, since they are pretty big and handle .ca registrations

At tucows.com, there is a box in the lower left that says WHOIS Lookup. Entering perf.bc.ca returns a lot of info, including:

Description: PerfeKt Programming provides computer sales and support to the public and commercial organizations of Mackenzie, B.C. Local ISP to service the community.
Admin-Name: Mr Neil Smith
Admin-Title: President
Admin-Postal: Perf Investments Ltd.
Perf Investments Ltd.
358 dba PerfeKt Programming
Mackenzie BC V0J 2C0 Canada
Admin-Phone: +1 (250) 997-5125
Admin-Fax: +1 (250) 997-4755
Admin-Mailbox: sales@perf.bc.ca
Tech-Name: Neil Smith
Tech-Title: President
Tech-Postal: PerfeKt Programming
358 Mackenzie Centre Mall
Mackenzie BC V0J 2C0 Canada
Tech-Phone: +1 (250) 997-5125
Tech-Fax: +1 (250) 555-4755

Well, I thought it was a student, but I’m not in Canada. Could this really be the ISP of a person living in Texas?
Or was it more likely some creep who just googled his way to the site?

Raven

www.torifest.com
www.6-58.com