About Unix Shell

Hi,

I am completely new in Unix Shell. I have installed a script on my web site, and it says that I have to install FFMPEG on my web server. I have download the FFMPEG from http://ffmpeg.mplayerhq.hu
But I really don’t how the heck work… How to install things using unix shell? Can anyone explain step by step… What I have to do now?

This script wouldn’t happen to be the YouTube clone, would it?
If that isn’t the case, DreamHost already provides FFMPEG on their servers by default. It’s located at /usr/bin/ffmpeg :slight_smile:

If you are indeed trying to use the YouTube clone script, I strongly advise against it. Besides the fact it’s quite broken, using such a script on a shared host such as DreamHost would probably get you booted off pretty fast due to the huge amounts of processing power and memory such a script requires to convert videos using ffmpeg.

Thanks for replying.

Yes, I want to use a script like youtube clone, because I want to create a site to share videos. Do you mean that it’s not a good idea to do that?

I really want to use that script, and I would like to know, how I can use it.
/usr/bin/ffmpeg , what do I have to replace in this?
usr=my username?

You don’t have to replace anything, it’s literally in that location. But for the YouTube clone script to actually work, you need several other programs, which unfortunately requires compiling your own version of ffmpeg.

And yes, I mean it’s not a good idea to run such a script on your DreamHost account. I’m almost positive you’ll experience tons of issues (mostly with ProcWatch killing ffmpeg) which may possibly lead to DH Staff asking you to disable the script entirely.

Of course, I can’t say that with certainty and you’re more than welcome to try, but I personally won’t help you any further. Nor can I honestly, as I’ve tried getting the script to work before myself to no avail, as someone before said it was “broken” and and the author claimed it wasn’t.