A website and a blog

im am on the verge of finishing my first website. now i need to host it. after looking for a while it seems this is a good place.

heres my question:
i want to have a static website and one day, eventually a blog.
can i have a website and a blog under one domain?

I’ve never done this stuff before… I’m a designer with a bit of developing knowledge but not enough i guess…

oh yeah and also how do i add my 404 error page? i know i will have to change some code in the php ini file somewhere…

There would be no problem having a static website and a blog together. In this day and age though, why reinvent the wheel? Just go with a good content management system like Drupal. This way once you are ready to expand your website you would be able to easily without spending so much time.

You would not need to have a custom php.ini file to do that. Learn about .htaccess.

sounds good.
its just a portfolio website, as i am a designer. but i may want to blog about my work.

unfortunatley i don’t know how to use drupal and I’m just teaching myself wordpress now.
i already made my static website I’m working on the wordpress part now.

wordpress can be more than just a blog. there is no reason you cannot use it to power your entire site, portfolio blog and all. make things easier on yourself. wordpress has made considerable inroads on being a one-stop cms. even though wp does blogging best, it can be a fairly decent content management system.

well maybe if i learn wordpress ill remake my website into a full wordpress site.
also i have javascript plugins and who knows if they would work with wordpress.

To answer your questions:
Yes, you can have a html (static) and a blog on the same domain and/or hosting packaged.
You can just install the blog in a folder inside your static website (www.domain.com/blog) or as a subdomain (blog.domain.com) and just link the blog inside your static website.