A couple questions on multiple dbs and home dirs

Hello all! I am new to DreamHost, but have a few years experience with several other hosts. My purpose here is to test out a new host and see about moving our project here… and wow do I have questions!

I seem to only be allowed 1 single solitary database under mysql.domain.com!! This can’t be, what am I missing? I know dreamhost wouldn’t dare ask me to make a seperate subdomain for each database I want to create, but I just don’t see how to add more databases under the same subdomain.

How in the world do I have my main account see all other accounts? In other words when I FTP in with my main account, I can see my domain, and subdomains, but no other user folders.

How do I setup my users to have access to selected subdomains through FTP? My main account has access to all subdomains, even when I setup a new subdomain and select another user. It would appear that the “remap sub-dir” holds the answer, but I need an example to go on, the kbase also tells me that if I do this the folder will not be able to handle php… and a subdomain that cannot handle php is a useless subdomain.

How do I change the home directories for users? I have fileswapping needs that Samba is going to do wonders to help me with, but my main account absolutely has to see the home folder for my fileswapping user account.

Is there any possible way we can get cpanel in here!?

Why can I not have 1 single solitary user account that has permission for FTP AND the db for instance? My team is not small and those that require multiple resource access are several. They will be on the verge of mutiny if I hand them a half dozen unique user accounts all associated with different resources (e.g. fileswapping account, N database accounts, main account, etc.).

I’m still reading about downtimes, is this just a current fad, or do servers regularly go down?

Are there any people out there that can tell me about their experience with the dedicated server option?