A buffet of basic newbie questions

Hi there - I’m new to DH and loving it so far! However being used to cpanel/whm I am struggling with the change over. Below are some questions which if someone could help with it would be much appreciated. I have looked at the wiki but for some reason I cant get the answers I need:

As a bit of context I am hoping to host 5 x Joomla sites on separate domains.

1. Do I create separate databases for each Joomla installation or do I separate them by unique table-prefixes?

2. What exactly is a mysql hostname? I presume I should have a dedicated one for each domain?

3. What is “first_user”. Should I have one generic “first_user” that covers all my sites?

4. With email what is a mailbox login? Is this the username that I use?

5. What is a mailbox “name”? Is that purely for reference?

6. Final question - what is the official easiest way to convert an existing joomla site from cpanel/other host to dreamhost? Is it a case of ftp down then up all files. Creating backup of mysql db and recreating on dh?

Thanks in advance for any help you can give…

The choice is yours, you are not restricted to a single database, so if it easier for you manage the sites with each using its own database, you can do so.

It will be whatever you make it, you get to set the hostname when creating the database. You can create a hostname for each site if you wish, or just re-use the hostname across each site.

Are you referring to username for a database, username for the Joomla control panel, or the unix user under which domains/ftp/shell run?

The mailbox login is what you use to connect to POP or IMAP, being in the format of user@domainname.tld.

This is just used as a reference, you can place the name of the person who owns the mailbox to help with management in the future.

I can’t help with this one too much as I’ve never moved a Joomla site before, but I have no doubt there would be many guides on the net that explain how to do this.