5 domains with joomla

wordpress

Hello there,
I would be really grateful for some advice please. I’m new to DH and hosting numerous sites using redirected domains.

I’ve got a few domains that I want to host in the same DH package. I would like each of them to use a Joomla! as their CMS but I can’t seem to get it to work.

I would be grateful for some advice on where to install each of the joomla! CMS’s to make sure they work.

I’ve got all of my domains hosted with another company and I have them redirected to DH and I think this may be the cause of my problem?

Many thanks in advance,

Tinyterrapin

When you say “hosted with another company”, I hope you mean just the registrar is another company.

I’m not familiar with Joomla but with other packages the technique is to install the software at a level “above” the actual domains. Example: Your space is at /home/yourusername. Your websites are under this:

/home/yourusername/domain1.com
/home/yourusername/domain2.net

Create a new directory there, something like:
/home/yourusername/apps

I personally have been trying to shift to something like this (it’s close but not quite what I want yet):

/home/user/apps/forum
/home/user/apps/cms
/home/user/apps/blog

Under each of those you can install specific packages for testing or production:
/home/user/apps/forum/smf
/home/user/apps/forum/phpbb
/home/user/apps/cms/joomla
/home/user/apps/cms/drupal/testing/v6.3
/home/user/apps/blog/wordpress/testing
/home/user/apps/blog/wordpress/production
Structuring the directories like this allow these benefits:

• It allows me to put all software under a single apps path - and that keeps /home/user from getting cluttered.
  • I can do testing without affecting the live site (I use subdomains to differentiate test from live). With Drupal, for example as seen above, I have a complete installation for testing a single release. With Wordpress I might just want one testing environment and one production environment.