24 failures in the last 22 hours

Hi All

I am new to Dreamhost, only been a user for a couple of weeks and only started really working on my site over the last few days. I planned to move all my site to Dreamhost after experimenting with the quality of the hosting. I was/am using 1and1 for a Joomla based site and discovered to my cost that the 1and1 MySQL servers seem to be run on the computing equivalent of a Casio calculator. They were/are dreadfully slow, hence the search for a new host…

On the Joomla.org forum Dreamhost gets a few recommendations and the package they offer, bandwidth, disk space etc, seems too good to be true. My main concern now is that this appears to be the case i.e. it IS to good to be true…

Whilst working on my site I keep getting “Cannot Find Server” messages & “this page cannot be displayed” as if the site is offline… I have reported to support and there was mention of a potential DNS issue. I have setup a web monitoring service and in the last 22 hours it has picked up 24 failures. One lasting about 40 minutes.

[quote]Quote from support: “I think this may have been caused by some lingering DNS issues with a few
domains. I have forced an update to your domains which should resolve any
problems you’ve been having.”[/quote]

Am I unlucky? Is this the normal standard of service form DH? Anyone have any opinions on this? I would be glad to hear them…

I’m willing to give them a couple more week but if this continues I will unfortunately have to start the search for another host… :frowning:

Thanks

Well, I’m not sure what you’re getting at. Are you asking if Dreamhost normally has DNS issues that cause these problems - then no. There’s been problems with the software they use - bind. They’ve bot new software in place and are working on transfering things over. So hopefully this problem is solved for you now, or will be shortly.