2 sites, 2 domains hosted under 1 possible?

Sorry if I sound dumb, but I am very new to web page building. Is it possible to host 2 different sites with 2 different domain names using the same host?

Yes you can. Most plans if not all(don’t remember at the moment) come with more than one domain. However only one domain will get the free web address, the other you will have to pay for. It was $14 I think it went down to $10, but not sure. Contact sales dept. and request another web address they will handle setting up the address for you, just like they did for the first, assuming you already have an account.
Silk

Yes, all plans now come with unlimited domains and sub-domains. As said above you only get the one free registration, you have to pay to register the names for an other domains you want.

You can register thoes domains at dreamhost for $9.95 a piece, or through any other registrar you might like. After you register the domain name, set the namer servers to Dreamhost’s and then add the domain into the panel > Domains > Manage Domains > Add new fully hosted domain.

Your domains will be completly seperate, different E-mail address, different content, everything (enless you want them to be the same, then set up a mirrored domain)

-Matttail

I’m still a little bit confused about this.

Let’s say I purchase a domain name from a different vendor. Am I still going to have to pay a fee to transfer that domain name over to my current dreamhost account? How much is the domain transfer fee?

If I purchase the domain name from Dreamhost, is there any other charge to have it as a second website under my account?

And just to clarify something: So it is okay for me to have several websites, each with their own domain name, all hosted by my one current plan?

Thanks for the help.

Great, thanks so much for the help.

One last question please. The $10 year extension that you mentioned, is that charged by the original vendor or by dreamhost?