2 php problems

software development

I’m a professional web developer but new to PHP. I’m trying to move a PHP application from another server to dreamhost but I’ve run into a few problems and am wondering if anyone can help me.

1. The call to session_start() was making the server return nothing and I got around this by commenting that line out. I don’t know if this is a problem yet because the rest of the application doesn’t work right.
  2. .php and .shtml files don’t seem to be processed properly. The .php files are executing code in the <? and ?> but aren’t getting properly prepended from the “php_value auto_prepend_file” line in the .htaccess file. The .shtml files don’t seem to be getting processed at all. The .html files are being properly processed and handled as PHP.

The phpinfo page is http://axelby.dreamhosters.com/phpinfo.php. I’d really appreciate any help.

1. You will definately need session_start(). How do you retrieve the session value? It should be something like $_SESSION[“session_name”]

2. You will need “server side include” to be enabled in apache. You can try to open a .shtml page. If the server does not process shtml page properly, you may need to ask DH support for help. Or you can convert shtml page to php page and use require_once to replace server side include.

$50 off and 3 free domains with code: [color=#CC0000]DH3[/color] Sign Up NOW or More Codes Here