1-click WP

wordpress

Hi

I’m a newbie with Dreamhost and am trying to set-up WordPress via the 1-click method but keep getting the following error:

“We were unable to set up wordpress as requested at:
http://www.mydomain.com/
The problem was isn’t a valid name for a directory!”

mydomain is registered with GoDaddy & I have changed the nameservers there.

What am I doing wrong?
Thanks for your help

Mark

Mark,

It sounds like even though you changed your name servers with GoDaddy you might not have “Added a domain” at the DreamHost panel.

Is your domain listed as “fully hosted” when you go to Control Panel -> Domains -> Manage Domains?

–rlparker

Hi rlp

Thanks for your reply. Yes, it is Fully Hosted. What should the web directory be on that Manage Domains page?
/home/username/mydomain.com/ ?

Thanks!

Mark

Mark,

Yes, that is the default manner in which DreamHost sets up the directory. If that is what is there, when you go to the “one-click” setup page for WordPress, you should enter only the “rest” of the path under the “install to” part of the form if you want to install WP into a sub-directory.

For instance, if you site is at “http://yourdomain.tld”, then in the install form, you should use the “pull down” selection list to select your domain and just leave the following line blank if you want WordPress to be installed at “http://yourdomain.tld”.

If you want it to be installed at “http://yourdomain.tld/blog/”, the just enter “blog” on that second line, etc.

Note that you should not have to manually type, or enter, any “http://www…” at all; only select the pulldown for the domain and indicate (as described above) whether you want to install it in a subdirectory.

If you have done that, and are still getting an error message, I don’t know what could be the problem. Are you able to FTP to your user area and see the “yourdomain.tld” directory? Is that directory completely empty of files?